Search for content, post, videos

TERRITORIES • Territories (Album Review)


Artist: Territories

Album: [self-titled]

Label: Pirates Press Records

Release Date: 08/31/2018


Canadians bands are often the brunt of musical jokes thanks to the likes of Nickelback, Justin Bieber, and Avril Lavigne.  But seeminly forgotten by the world, Canada has a lot of amazing artists that deserve to be recognized.  Today I would like to draw your attention to one punk band in particular: Territories.  Coming at you from Calgary Alberta, Territories are made up of four dudes who know what a solid punk sound is.  Those dudes are: 

  • Kyle – vox/guitar
  • Jimmy – guitar
  • Matt – bass
  • Eric – drums


Their self-titled LP is full of exceptional stand-alone tracks.  Any of the songs easily worthy of being a single and getting steady radio play.  When mixed together as an album, these songs tell a story that you want to be a part of.  Musically, these guys know what works for them.  Territories have a sound that will capture the attention of those who love melodic punk while still being edgy enough to keep street punk fans interested.

We live in a time where the masses want everything in a single-serving.  That tends to influence how we listen to music now, too.  So many of us putting one or two songs from an artist on a playlist before moving on to add the next.  This is album is different though.  Territories is an album that you will put on and want to listen to from start to finish.  And in true punk fashion, the entire album is about 30 minutes long.

Track Listing:

  1. Numb Somehow
  2. Green Eyes
  3. New Thing
  4. Quiet Voices
  5. The Bigger They Come
  6. There and Gone
  7. Heart That Breaks
  8. Roman Walls
  9. On With The Show
  10. Standing In Place
  11. Wolves
  12. Nulla Victoria


Lyrically these guys write about things that everyone can relate to. Track after track you find yourself connecting to what Territories are putting out there.  Songs like “Quiet Voices” (…One day the demagogues will see, that most of us agree and we’ll choose what to be….) and “Numb Somehow”  (…I want a comfortable skin; unlike the one I’ve been in…) give life to things that most of us have thought or felt at some point in our lives.  They even dig deep into their feels halfway through the album with “Heart That Breaks” – a song about loving and wanting that one person more than anyone else.  They are songs that you can completely immerse yourself in and just enjoy – whether you’re at home, driving in your car, or catching them at a gig.

All four members are talented musicians.  Instrumentally each song is well composed with no weak spots in any of the songs on this album.  Transitions between the verses and choruses blend effortlessly.  While distinctly different, each song retains the Territories’ sound without sounding like the musical equivalent of a run-on sentence.


I think Canadian punk has a distinctly different feel to it than American, British, or European punk and it’s hard to compare them to other bands.  However, if you’re a fan of bands like Bouncing Souls, Face to Face, Off With Their Heads, or The Flatliners, chances are Territories will be right in your wheelhouse.  

Check them out on Spotify or Apple Music.  You can also pick up their flexi album pack on Pirates Press Records today!

Rating: 8.5/10








Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *